Oh, Dante Alighieri

after “What Women Want” by Kim Addonizio

Grandfather, I long for rest, long

for the unceasing hurricane

spinning inside me,

blowing inside me

to dissipate out at sea,

long for the pressure, the terror,

the flying debris to settle, long

for disaster relief, long,

at least, for the eyes,

the faces that haunt me,

the painted lips, the finely accentuated

eye lashes, cocked heads innocently giggling,

half hidden peaks of bewitching breasts

dissecting me, the heart in my chest,

to cease. I long for the sing-song

voices to stop their hypnotic chorus.

Oh, how I long for rest.

To know again the simplicity

of first love, love without corruption,

without question, love assured

to last forever, to last

that long at least .

Author:

A day is not done, until it's filled with words.

Leave a Reply

