A voice comes in the darkness, #197

I lay me down to sleep,
say my prayers to nothing.
What comes
in darkness
is a voice
who promises to share with me
a secret, but first warns
that due to reasons I can not know,
he can not
stay long. So listen.
What is said

would not shake the earth even if
the hard stagnant rock
were just jello.
The voice, definitely male,
tells me that all marriage
will face
infinite, seemingly endless
pains.
A voice comes in the darkness
explaining to me
that whatever agony, what
pains
my wife and I
fight through,
pains
that pit us against
ourselves are normal.
A voice comes in the darkness

to remind us each
of what

we long ago promised
and says to remember. We must
know that these agonies will rear their heads.
How we deal with them is up to us.

A voice comes in the darkness.
A voice comes in the darkness

as warning, assurance,
to remind both of us
we are
both victim
and victor,
slaves upon the situation
and deciders of fate.
Destiny is what you are given
though your fate
is what you choose to
do with it.

He said he could not stay, perhaps
he had said too much
and needed now
to go. And though I begged, pleaded
with this voice, soothing voice
that came
to say. He said to enjoy my
pains.
A voice comes in the darkness
and declares my life
a casserole of various
pain,
then buggers off
leaving
pains
behind. Leaving me
with a lifelong quest.
A voice comes in the darkness

and it becomes my
problem

to figure what it meant.
Waking I decide first to tell
my wife. After all, if we can
decide, then I choose first to tell her.

A voice came in the darkness.
A voice came in the darkness.

It does not affect her.
And when I report back
the words,
the message,
the context
of the missive, she is nonplussed.
What voice would come to say
destiny is what you are given,
though your fate
is what you choose to
do with it?

She is unimpressed, yet she is
often unimpressed,
all too often.
And so I attempt to explain
the tone and the color
rising
up from the words. One should listen
when
a voice comes in the darkness.
She says, stop talking,
go get ready. We must be there
when
the clock strikes two
o’clock,
when
people are counting
on us to be there.
A voice comes in the darkness,
calming voice, sad voice
I try
to grasp onto, to beg
it not to go. But I must go
and meander through my day with words
ringing in my head, stuck in my head.

A voice comes in the darkness.
A voice comes in the darkness.

I am afraid, not just
of the words, but mostly
the thoughts
behind them,
of being
alone, due to my negligence.
I’m the one who caused it.
Destiny is what you are given,
though your fate
is what you choose to
do with it.

The next time I lay down to nap
I sit in silence
and ask the void
if the voice, the old soothing voice
can come back, comfort me.
And yes,
it comes to visit. I am blessed
when
a voice comes in the darkness
and shares a secret.
Your marriage will face agony
when
you both forget
what’s said,
when
you can’t remember
why you got married.
A voice comes in the darkness.

A simple message
spoken

so plainly anyone
would be able to understand.
Do not neglect a lover’s touch, nor
the moments you are able to spend.

A voice comes in the darkness.
A voice comes in the darkness

sharing its long wisdom
and longview, warning you.
Take not
the moments
for granted.
Go now and kiss your lovers lips
and tell her you’re sorry.
Destiny is what you are given,
though your fate
is what you choose to
do with it.

You will face pain. Never forget
why you married her.
Because, at best
no one comes close to saving you
from yourself, from demons
you keep,
from your love of self-inflicted
pain.
A voice comes in the darkness
that could be your father
or your God, your teachers who took
pains
to release you
from the
pains
of adolescence
and fists of bullies.
A voice comes in the darkness

to make sure you don’t
fall back

on all your old habits.
You will face pain. Never forget
your power comes in how you deal
with it, in how you love despite it.

A voice comes in the darkness.
A voice comes in the darkness

and says to kiss your wife
tell her you admire her
and let
her admire
your kind gifts.
You will face pain. Never forget
how you love each other.
Destiny is what you are given,
though your fate
is what you choose to
do with it.

You’ll face pain, but never forget.

Author:

A day is not done, until it's filled with words.

Leave a Reply

