March 22

For the class I have cut
and pasted poems

I loved growing up
and copied them

though I know
soon each will be

stuffed in a locker
stuck like gum to a seat

made tougher than they
ever felt to me.

For the class I have changed
typefaces and colors

staying the strange
way words are dressed

nowadays meaning
to draw attention away

from sometimes how hard

it is to see some things

have meaning beyond telling
simply another story.

For the class I have called
them each Arial

dyed them black
concentrated each

onto one page
on one half

to save space
power and ink

copied them close
crowded back to back.

Leave a Reply

